Wide Angle and Normal Nikon Prime FX Lenses

Nikon has made a large number of wide angle and normal prime lenses over the years. I define this category as any lens less than 60mm in focal length. Wide angle would tend to be 35mm or lower in focal length. So roughly:

  • 14-35mm = wide angle
  • 40-60mm = normal

These two groups of lenses tend to fall into four basic categories:

  • Fast f/1.4 primes (originally D, now updated to G and E) — 24mm, 28mm, 35mm, 50mm
  • Moderately fast f/1.8 primes (originally D, now all updated to G) — 20mm, 24mm, 28mm, 35mm, 50mm
  • "Standard" f/2.8 primes (still all D; not yet updated to G) — 14mm, 16mm, 20mm, 24mm
  • Specialty lenses such as the Micro-Nikkor or PC-E series — 19mm f/4, 24mm f/3.5, 45mm f/2.8, 60mm f/2.8

Here’s information about all of Nikon’s FX wide angle and normal prime lenses:

Looking for gear-specific information? Check out our other Web sites:
mirrorless: sansmirror.com | general: bythom.com| Z System: zsystemuser.com | film SLR: filmbodies.com

dslrbodies: all text and original images © 2023 Thom Hogan
portions Copyright 1999-2022 Thom Hogan—All Rights Reserved